As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Market share and revenue aside, companies are supposed to take social responsibilities. In my opinion, I totally support this perspective as caring about other social aspects besides profit margin could benefit businesses in the long run.

Firstly, by holding society-devoted campaigns, organizations could raise their brand identification among their target customers, especially in remote areas where usual advertising campaigns nearly can not reach. A prime example of this is the school milk programme established by TH true milk in Nghe An. Before this campaign, this brand is unawared by people living in mountainous regions, however, by offering every schoolchildren in Nghe An a daily source of fresh milk without emphasizing the profit rate, TH true milk has now become a household name in this province. Moreover, long-term gains could come when companies put their customers’ well-being first instead of their benefit cost ratio. For instance, by changing the menu and ingredients used to produce healthier food, Mc Donalds has stood the test of time to become the market leader in the fast food industry when people are caring more and more about their health.

On the other hand, social issues and environmental problems happen if businessmen ignore social responsibilities and take priority in making money since their income could come from damaging natural resources or harming other people’s benefits. Formosa ha tinh steel corporation is a telling example for this as they reduced production cost by discharging contaminated water into the sea, thus causing the widespread death of several marine species and severe losses to the fishery industry of many areas. Another disadvantage is losing brand reputation with business lessons from Facebook. As this firm getting more and more users, it started to sell its customers’ private information to marketing agencies, therefore, when this truth being revealed, Facebook losed a significant amount of users and no longer won the trust of the remaining ones.

In summary, besides monetary gains, companies should concentrate on social benefits, especially the benefits of their clients. By practising this, they can survive and thrive in the long term.