It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole.

What are advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Thanks to technology advances in transportation, there are now numerous long-distance trips which enable travellers and scientists to visit distant habitats such as the South Pole. In my opinion, I think that this phenomenon has both drawbacks and benefits.

From an opstimistic perspective, travelling to far-flung landscapes can bring about valuable scientific and memorable experiences. Firstly, there are huge gaps of knowledge in terms of geography and history in remote areas. Therefore, if more experiments is conducted in these places, the science community might have unexpected discoveries which may benefit humans. For instance, by constantly researching the South Pole's surface, geologists hace found out several mineral deposits which could solve the worldwide shortage of natural resources. Moreover, given that the need for challenging and unusual journeys is increasing, trips to remote matural environment would offer learning and exploring opportunities for tourists. To exemplify, the conquest of mount Everest can give any traveller a sense of pride since mount Everest is the highest mount on Earth.

However, the increasing frequency of trips to remote places could pose threats to local natural habitats and wildlife. Given that these areas usually have their own unique but fragile habitats, any sudden flock of visitors can cause irreversible damages due to a lack of sustainable managements. For example, the regular visits of travellers have made mount Everest become a dirty tourist attraction with tons of litters. Beisdes, the destruction of the local habitat might harm species in these areas. For instance, there were many pandas living in Himalayas in the past. However, the arrival of humans, especially poachers, have put this creature under the threat of extinction.

In summary, although travelling to distant natural habitats might have several advantages to tourists and scientists, there are also potential harms to the environment and wildlife.