As well as making money businesses also have social responsibilities To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is under heated debate that apart from earning money, whether big entrepreneurs also ought to shoulder social responsibilities. In my opinion, I agree with the view that companies should not only focus on making fortune, but also be responsible for the society.

On the one hand, businesses have nothing to do with social characters. Firstly, making profits is the only target for any company, otherwise they will be charities instead of entrepreneurs. For example, if a company takes too many social responsibilities such as donating schools or hospitals, it may not able to pay their employees’ salaries, bills or housing. Moreover, it is reasonable that some companies argue they choose not to take any duties to the society since they have paid taxes to the government already. In this view, it will be too much burden for firms if they both pay taxes and are required to feed back the society.

On the other hand, however, it is responsible for companies to do something good for the society. For one thing, as some businesses receive significant support from government policies, it is their duty to pay back to the society. For example, when Huawei, a top mobile phone company in China, intended to expand their business overseas, the Chinese authorities help it build relationships with some African governments, which surely promote huawei’s sales in these areas. Therefore, no wonder people require huawei to shoulder duty for the society. For another, companies can not survive without individuals purchasing their products. Thus, for these firms, taking social responsibilities can be considered as a way of saying thank you to these supporters.

In conclusion, although there are some reasons why companies need not take social responsibilities, I hold the belief that they should absolutely attach great duty for the society.