As well as making money, businesses should also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Making profits is recognised as the intrinsic character of corporations in modern business society. However, some people argue that enterprises are obliged to fulfil social responsibilities as well. In my opinion, those two aspects are not mutual exclusive but interrelated with each other, and both of them are important.

It is understandable that the primary task of corporations is making profits. This is mainly because these organisations should firstly ensure their survival in the fierce competition of the market. They have to produce fortune for the sake of maintaining the operation, covering the huge overheads, as well as paying those employees. If a company cannot have basic profitability, it will be confronted with bankruptcy, which cannot satisfy the living requirements of its own employee, let alone making social contribution.

On the other hand, if a corporation could be competitive in the market and its revenue situation is relatively good, it is reasonable for it to concentrate more on social responsibilities. The reasons are also obvious. Firstly, it is the whole society that makes the corporation become profitable. Without the community’s recognition and support, it is not easy for a company to earn huge income in the long run. In order to repay the society, companies should spare no efforts to improve the quality of service and products they offer, which is an essential aspect of social responsibility. Besides, corporations have sufficient financial ability to solve some social problems such as sponsoring charities, which will efficiently benefits the whole society. Finally, making social contributions will to great extent boost companies’ reputation and enlarge their influence, which is beneficial for them making more profits in return.

In conclusion, fulfilling social responsibilities has positive effects both for the society and for the companies themselves. So it should be encouraged to practice in those profitable business organisations.