Some people think painting and drawings are as important as other subjects, they should be compulsory in high school education. What do you think?

This debate reminds me a story, a group of Chinese students visited America, during the process of communication activity, American students invited Chinese peers to play musical instrument together, yet, what a pity is that almost nobody is well-versed in art performance .Virtually, many educators and parents have been pondering, for years, the connotation of perfect education. As I see it, only imparting career-oriented knowledge leaves much to be desired, therefore, it is of necessity to include painting and drawings as compulsory part of high school curriculum.

I first turn to the chief aim of education to justify my viewpoint. An ideal education should entail helping youngsters realize comprehensive development and cultivating their manifold talents. Academic education is important, however, art-related courses are equally indispensable because the popularity of art courses could, to large extent, mould one’s temperament, enhance one’s art accomplishment, instill confidence into one’s heart. Also, a number of students are now over-burdened with exam-oriented and exercise-stuffed education, they, sometimes, feel fed up with school life, thereby, studying art course can be considered as an effective stress-reducer, which helps students to brave academic challenges energetically. Last, knowledge is not a burden, a man of many parts should never confine himself to job-related knowledge. Instead, one is expected to become more versatile via developing various capabilities.

Some others might take a skeptical attitude towards my stand. Those who believe that it is probably a hasty decision to introduce pairings or drawings to the curriculum of school education might argue that this practice is more likely to interfere with students' study of main courses and occupy a lot of precious time. Meanwhile, some people might contend that art-related courses bear little relevance to one’s future job-seeking. What I want to refute, however, is that this utilitarian mentality will inevitably hinder one’s all-round development and deprive students of enjoyment brought about by art learning.

To conclude, the introduction of art-related courses into high school education enjoys glaring merits to tap the students' many capabilities, hence, I re-affirm my conviction that it is advisable and feasible to encourage those who in the formative years to acquire paintings and drawings.