What are the advantages and disadvantages of children watching TV?

It is undeniable that watching televisions has become one of the most popular activity among the young people. While spending time watching one's favourite programs provides an abundance of merits, it has also demerits.

With regards to the advantages, firstly, TVs can offer a wide range of educational programs such as learning how to read, write and count. For instance, the program like the number blocks and alpha blocks teach young children how to count and read and youngsters learn through entertaining and without realising that they are acquiring a new knowledge. Secondly, TVs can provide an invaluable time for a family bounding, family members can huddle up front of the TV and share a moment. Last but not least, watching an informative show can also improve and encourage young people's critical thinking and analysing skills.

On the other hand, if the TV supplements the socialising or replace other activities then it will have a devastating consequences. It can cause physical and psychological health issues. For instance, watching many hours will result in not having enough time for socialise and for other physical activities. Subsequently they make themselves susceptible to become overweight, due to lack of physical exercise. In some cases children watch unsuitable programs, where violence and sex are glamorised. This can have a dangerous repercussions such as blindly imitating them and believing these kinds of acts are normal.

In conclusion, while TV should be watch for many good reasons, it has also its downsides. Therefore, parents and other guardians should restrict the TV channels and programs by choosing the right ones for their offsprings. If the TVs watch in moderation, it has an invaluable place in children's lives. Hence, advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages.