what are the advantages and disadvantages for children of TV?

In present times, television has found its place in our lives. one cannot imagine a house without a television, especially the one connected to satellite. From times when it offered two channels, we are now in an era where we are caught in the stampede of different channels.. Although television has had an impact on all, it leaves a great impression on the minds of children.

Let us begin by looking at the advantages of television on the lives of children. one of the main positives of watching television is that the horizons of a child get expanded. For instance, a ten or below year child watching discovery channel or history channel or for that case any of the knowledgeable channels, gains more knowledge than his/her peers reading books.

Secondly, even though a child often prefers cartoons, there are many cartoons where one learns great things and even more the imagination of the child is improved. Take doraemon for example. Every episode of this show teaches either moral or scientific things. when the character of the show gets beaten up for lying, the child understands that he/she must not lie.

Turning to the other side of the argument, uncontrolled television is a major problem. In a study it was seen that a child watching more than one hour of television daily tends to be more aggressive than the one who watches less of TV. even more a child seeing the fights or other aggressive shows, could try to imitate them and get himself/herself hurt.

Another issue is that, more than often a child gets attracted to the lives of television stars that they end up watching it for hours. this not only has negative impact on their health but also distracts them from their studies.

To sum up, television is like a weapon. one can either use it to protect or harm oneself. Personally, I believe television is watched under the strict guidance can prove to be a boon for the child.