What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a older person living in family homes?

The concept of an elderly staying in a family home is not new. With the rise in proportion of baby boomers, many working adults are choosing to relocate their parents in their own homes. In this essay, I will endure to discuss the pros of doing so such as the ability to reduce expenses and a peace in mind with a grown up at home as well as the cons involving welfare management and overriding personal autonomy.

With the dramatic increase of the cost of living lately, opting for a cheaper option for parental welfare is a no brainer. By having their parents residing in their houses, the expenditure on retirement homes can be put towards property rental or mortgage payment. Furthermore, if the older generation were to live in family homes, middle aged adult do not need to uneccessarily stress on the well- being of their young children at home. that way, the focus can be on the outcomes of their jobs or studies which ultimately leads to a tranquility of mind for them.

On the flip side, having an elderly at home involves considerable thoughts put into their safety. The need to lower the chances of an accidental fall or emergency services related to poor health of the senior citizens are mandatory. The time required for planning may not be appealing to some. Other than that, many from this aged group have a certain way of living. There may be an infringement to personal autonomy at home in educating the young ones. For example, a grandmother may allow the grandchild to consume sweets as a reward despite the child having tooth decay.

In conclusion, while it is beneficial to save cost and have an adult to look after young kids, the onus should fall on the working adult to decide to if it outweighs the cons such as the elderly welfare and a overriding in personal autonomy.