WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF MASS MEDIA?

Media is the plural form of the phrase medium, which refers to any mode of communication. Media may be defined as anything that can enter the realm of communication and impact individuals, including products such as television, phones, and the internet. Some current types of media, such as internet media or social media (such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and WhatsApp), have completely revolutionized our environment over time. This media mass would have certain advantages, but it would also have some disadvantages.

In terms of benefits, social networking sites have made it much easier for us to stay in touch with our loved ones across geographical boundaries. Students studying abroad, for example, may use the video call capabilities of Skype, Facebook, and other applications to stay in touch with their relatives and friends on a regular basis. Social media is also an effective marketing and commercial tool. Companies may keep their clientele up to date on newly-released items or promotions by publishing their campaigns on Facebook or Instagram, which saves a significant amount of time and money when compared to conventional ways of advertising in newspapers or magazines.

Despite the positives listed above, I feel that social media causes more harm than good when it comes to communication. The misuse of social media degrades interpersonal interactions. Many people are so addicted to social networking sites that they continuously gaze at their screens during family gatherings, paying little attention to the people around them. The usage of social media has an impact on the way individuals communicate and write, particularly among young people. Many kids nowadays have a propensity of employing shortened language, which they commonly utilize in text messages, social media postings, academic essays, or official emails.

In conclusion, given the reasons stated above, I believe that the benefits of social media on human communication exceed the drawbacks.