What are the advantages and disadvantages of social networking?

In our modern world, the internet is one of the most helpful tools which makes our life much easier. People nowadays use social networks not only to entertain but also to connect with the world.

There are many advantages of social networking. Firstly, using social networks, especially Facebook, means we can keep in touch with friends and family in a convenient way. If we have relatives in another area, even another country, we can keep in contact using Facebook, Twitter, etc. Social networking helps people pass on the news. The internet is always updating. You can easily get breaking news just by clicking on the websites. In addition, when a new story breaks, social websites help us hear the experience and opinions of the people where the news is happening. Last but not least, surfing the social network is a popular form of entertainment. Sitting on the sofa with one of your smart devices and you can see a whole new world on the internet. There are tons of funny videos, photos and stories that people post every day on their own social account. Those things really help you to relax because they are incredible.

Social networking is good but everything has its dark side. It also has some disadvantages. According to a study, about 70% of the world population is using at least one type of social media. It means there are various types of people on the internet, include bad guys with dangerous thinking. Nobody knows the true identity of some of the people using social websites. Therefore, sometimes people think they're talking online to someone friendly but it might be a dangerous stranger. Furthermore, social networking can be addictive, especially in young people. It has tons of fabulous things that make you laugh but also make you addicted. Young people might spend too much time on social media compared to other activities.

Those are some good sides and some dark sides of using social websites. To enjoy it all, you should learn how to spend time on social networking effectively.