What are the causes of overpopulation? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the contemporary era, overpopulation has attracted enormous social concerns. The purpose of this essay is to give an analysis on the causes of the issue and provide solutions to resolve this worldwide problem.

Nowadays, there are two main factors that contribute to overpopulation around the world especially in almost developing countries. Firstly, poverty is believed to be one leading cause that leads overpopulation becoming one of global top concerns. There is a huge number of developing nations whose people have to live in slums with a lack of educational resources and little or no knowledge about family planning to avoid the raising of the population. Secondly, advanced technology in medical fields plays a crucial role in lengthening life expectancy, curing lethal diseases, thus helping in the decline of death rate over the world and also indirectly leading to overpopulation.

As population on earth growing rapidly, governments could certainly make more effort to reduce overpopulation through enacting various national policies related to birth control which lower income tax for those married couples who have single or two children and raising knowledge of sex education at school. For example, making sex education become an important subject for young kids from elementary to higher education level should be mandatory because most parents feel shy and are not comfortable to discuss such things with their kids freely. As a result, children are only able to look out on the internet where information is mostly incomplete and that will lead them to have countless misunderstandings and false knowledge about sex. Furthermore, raising awareness about family planning and post-effects of overpopulation among communities is also a possible solution to reduce its growing speed. One of the best ways is to let them know about a variety of safe sex techniques and methods available to avoid any unwanted pregnancy.

To summarize, overpopulation is a crisis that potentially stands alongside with air pollution as one of the biggest challenges facing humanity today. Both governments and individuals must play their part in taking care of this threat for a greater future.