What are the differences between living in a big city and in the countryside?

Everything has two sides. And so do life in the city and life in the countryside. Whilst living in the city offers people with many good job opportunities and convenient services like education and health, life in the countryside brings people the sense of peace and relaxation in their mind.

The first difference is about the job opportunity. The city offers more jobs than the countryside does. In the countryside, people lives solely depend on doing farming which is seasonal. For example, in some remote areas in Mekong Delta, farmers only have two seasons to plant and harvest. When those seasons end, they have nothing to do but staying at home. Other peasants who do not possess land have to wait for others to hire them to do harvesting works. However, this kind of job is not stable and they have to do many other different jobs to keep the wolf at the door, it means to earn enough money for their family. Meanwhile in the city, thousands of jobs are available for both ordinary people and those with degrees. For those without certificates, they can choose to work as workers in factories or industrial zones. If they find that working in these places is not for them, they can choose to work as cab drivers or sell something that they are excel at. And for ones with degrees, they can choose to start their career in both internal and multinational companies that offer jobs related to their major like economy or engineering. It is not difficult to earn a living in the city.

Besides job offering, another significant difference between the two regions is the convenience offered by entertainment centers or healthcare services. In the countryside, people have to travel a long distance to reach a hospital or medical center in case of an emergency situation. Moreover, the entertaining service like cinemas or clubs are quite strange to rural residents because there is no cinema or club in rural areas. So it is not surprising when seeing people going to bed at 7 pm or 8 pm if you have a chance to visit the countryside. On the other hands, most best and well-equipped hospitals are located in big cities, so it is quite easy for people to receive advanced treatment if they have serious health problems. On the weekends, people can have a nice time with their family like dining together in a cozy restaurant or hanging out with friends and having a drink with them. If you get bored and do not know what to do, just take a walk around and you will find your own amusement.

In conclusion, the way for living is different from the rural areas to the city in many aspects. It is heaven or not depends on the way people living there enjoy the pace of life.