In many countries, students take a year gap after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it? Give your own opinion.

In the recent years, taking a gap year has become a trendy wave among students who have just graduated from high school. They tend to spend their spare time travelling or participating in voluntary activities in other countries. Despite the fact that this trend brings many advantages, it has some drawback eithe

To begin with, the biggest advantage of taking a year off is the chance to explore the world offered by this trend. By visiting different places in a particular period of time helps students broaden their mindset and their look about the world around them. They have chance to make friends, learn about new cultures, understand global issues and immerse themselves in global activities like doing volunteer. In addition to expanding knowledge about the globe, such trips also assist students to find their career interest. This means that they can realize their real passion for a particular job, which is exactly a necessary foundation for their fulfilling career afterward. Besides, working before entering university helps students reduce the financial burden for both their family and the students themselves. As the school fee gets more and more expensive when it comes to higher education, working for a year prior to registering in a university. The amount of money earned from this kind of temporary jobs will cover the expenses for textbooks, accommodation or even the school tuition in the first semester.

On the contrary, one benefit of taking a gap year is the decrease in motivation for studying. For example, when students are busy travelling to new territories and enjoying the comfort and amusement that life offers, they tend to be more tired and depressed when getting back to the normal circle of life. They may feel that returning to study and dealing with deadline or assignment is not an easy thing to cope with after a long time living in relax and freedom.

To conclude, the break of a year before pursuing the study at university helps students discover their fondness for career and expand their knowledge about all new things happening around them. However, this trend has demerits for lowering the students' motivation for higher study.