When children start school, teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the improvement of young children are prompted by adults in their life, particularly parents and teachers. However, some people put their priority over teachers in the guidance of children’s intellectual and behavioral development compared to parents. Personally speaking, I strongly believe that the role of teachers is inevitable but nobody can deny the importance of parental education to a child’s.

On the one hand, teachers play an indispensable education role in student’s progress especially during kindergarten. Nowadays, most schools and teachers adopt social constructivism educational approach so that children can acquire knowledge as well as develop soft skills through social activities. In schools, children are often required to work in groups in order to improve teamwork, collaboration or problem-solving skills and whenever they faces any challenges there always have teachers to guide them through the quest and show them what they can do in different situations by applying fundamental knowledge. In addition, it is the teachers that teach children literacy skills and gain profound insight into the world. In other words, teachers can shape children’s way of thinking about their living environment or even teach them to have think critically with independent thoughts and options.

On the other hand, the pivotal role of parents in their offspring’s intellectual and social development is undeniable. Firstly, children could be excel in some special abilities thanks to their parents’ education meanwhile teachers could only offer them common information. For instance, kids who were born in family with musical oriented parents often have more opportunities to be well equipped with a deep insight into music. Moreover, the way children express themselves in schools are often the consequences of observing and imitating how their parents communicate with other people. To specify, children have many similar behavior traits to their parents’ as the results of hereditary characteristics and social interaction therefore children’s maturation process is largely due to their parents’ child rearing.

In conclusion, I believe that it is difficult to say who have more impact on children’s growth. Both parties have their own certain stimuli to young children’s cognition and behavior.