When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Recently, the phenomenon of conflicts between tradition and technology and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, whereas some people believe that traditional skills will be eventually extinct by the advent of technology, others are of the opinion that officials should attempt to keep traditional ways of life alongside technology alive. In my mind, humans are capable of preventing traditional skills’ extinction due to technological developments.

Obviously, conventional skills and crafts have the ability to maintain their importance accompanying with technology. Japan could be taken into account as a tangible example. Japan, as one of the most sophisticated nations in terms of technology, succeeded to combine technology with tradition. Populace of Japan come up with innovative approaches to prevent mass extinction of their traditions, albeit nations around the four corners of the globe consider Japan as a symbol of modernization.

What’s more, technological feats stem from creative ideas, but apparently simple, of traditional skills and craftsmen. Hence, it is more likely that mankind couldn’t reach such cutting-edge technologies without utilizing conventional skills as well as masterpieces of our ancestors. Thus, traditional skills pave the way to colossal improvements regarding technology and so we shouldn’t lose sight of values of keeping our traditions alive.

On the other hand, loads of individuals elucidate that tradition belongs to the past rather that the present, or even future. Humans should leave such skills as making artefacts by clay or carpet-producing skills to museums. In their view, technologies will be far more than enough to meet humans’ needs.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I opt to vigorously support the idea that struggling to keep our traditional skills as well as out conventional ways of life alive is inextricably bound up with our fate. By the way, like Shakespeare’s, tradition or technology, that’s the question.