When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the

building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that during the process of constructing a building, the ultimate purpose of using it should be prioritized instead of the overall appearance. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement as the intended objective and outward look of a block are equally important.

On the one hand, the intended purpose of a building might largely orient the whole construction process. Firstly, how a building would be used will be the decisive factor for its overall structure and materials. In other words, different kinds of buildings with specific purposes such as work, entertainment, or accommodation would require distinct structure to meet the demand of citizen. For example, a building built for recreation use would have several parts constructed creatively, while an apartment would merely be the same rooms put together. Secondly, the location of a building will also largely be decided by its construction purpose. If a building is located at a place which does not facilitate its intended use, the expected effective operation might not be achieved.

On the other hand, attractive appearance is also an important element that should be taken into account when a building is put into use. One reason is that the unique and outstanding outlook of a building would grasp the attention of people. This applies particularly to highrise apartments in city, where residents have the tendency to settle in blocks with modern and fancy outlook. Another factor why a building's appearance is crucial is that it somehow reflects the cultural distinction and traditional features of a certain city or country to visitors. For instance, the 81-storey building constructed recently in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, is designed in the shape of bamboo tree, whose features are closely related to Vietnamese glorious history and long-lasting customs.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the intended use and appearance play an equal role in designing a building, and therefore, the constructors should carefully consider these factors to create an impressive architectural work.