When new towns are planned it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a controversial idea heating a debate over whether to construct more public parks and sports amenities than shopping centres for citizens to spend their leisure time, when a new town was arranged. Correspondingly, I consider myself as an advocate of the above perspective.

In terms of providing sports facilities, this is an effective way to strengthen the city dweller’s health, which may reduce the government's budget for medical expenses in the future. Currently, many people live a sedentary lifestyle choosing to glued themselves to the screen in order to watch TV or play video games in their quality times. Conversely, if there is a more convenient way to access various kinds of sport facilities, they will be more likely to change their lifestyle and make exercise a regular part of their life.

Regarding the benefits of constructing the parks, it is also a good place for doing outdoor activities, particularly to those who are not interested in high intensity training with sport amenities. For instance, jogging or dancing in the park are common activities among elderly citizens these days. In a park with many trees, it can absorb waste gases and provide fresh air, creating a comfortable environment for inhabitants.

Furthermore, the main function of shopping centres is for people to buy various goods, but in today’s world, by the revolution of the internet, on-line shopping is becoming increasingly prevalent, which leads to the fact that the role of stores and malls seems to be weakened. In addition, large shopping centres can also include some leisures facilities such as cafes or cinema, however, these may not be as important as parks and sports centres.

In conclusion, in the process of urban planning and construction, building parks and sports facilities should be emphasized rather than shopping centres since it brings a wealth of advantage not only to the civilian but also to the social.