When new towns are planned, it is more important to include public parks and sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When planning a new town, the authorities need to take various perspectives into consideration and prioritize constructing particular facilities. While some prefer erecting public parks and gyms, others emphasize developing shopping malls. I totally agree with the former, more than recreational zones, parks and other sports facilities also play an important role in promoting public health and environmental protection.

First and foremost, public parks are good places for doing workouts and entertaining. To be more specific, while young people prefer doing street sports, the elderly could spend hours walking or practicing Tai Chi beneath the shadow of the trees. In the long term, doing workouts regularly not only improves the city dweller’s life quality but also reduce the government’s budget for medical expenses. Besides, picnic areas in parks are ideal places for people to gather as well as entertain, and therefore, they could strengthen the connections as well as make new friends.

Another major benefit that should be mentioned is the role of public parks in protecting the environment. To be more specific, the greenery areas are considered as “green lungs” which absorb pollutants and create a fresh atmosphere for the citizens. That is significant, especially in cities with various constructions as well as an enormous amount of transport vehicles which release tons of gases per year. The exhaust gases not only contribute to respiratory diseases but also enhance ozone depletion and climate changes.

In conclusion, when considering the positive influences of parks and sports facilities on preventing the sedentary life as well as limiting environmental pollution, I concur that developing these constructions rather than shopping centers should be prioritized.