When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When it comes to drawing out a scheme for new towns, there are numerous contradictory viewpoints about whether it is more crucial to set up a variety of public amusements and exercising facilities than shopping malls or not. From my personal perspective, I would take a dim view of this opinion in the belief that both types of facility are equally necessary to the town inhabitants.

On the one hand, the reasons why public facilities are beneficial to the residents can be attributed to two main factors. First and foremost, as our living pace is getting more and more hectic, people are extremely in the need of green spaces in order to relieve their stress and regain energy after hours dealing with traffic jams or polluted environments. By creating more public parks and sport centers, the locals are not only given an opportunity to have a relaxing place but also granted access to a wide range of exercising equipments, they can have a walk, play tennis or just simply enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of the area. The second reason that should be taken into consideration is the construction of public facilities may act as an adhesive to bring people closer together as it is a good chance for them to strike a conversation with their neighbors, such harmonious relationships will make that town a better living space.

On the other hand, it is the convenience and importance of shopping complexes that make it indispensable when a town is planned. Firstly, having a shopping centers within the area could make shopping more convenient for the town dwellers. It would enable them to have easier access to goods and necessities, and people do not have to spend a large amount of money on transportation or shipping costs. Secondly, it is undeniable that shopping centers can be the town’s excellent profit-generating source. The revenue getting from operating shopping complexes can be used to improve the town’s infrastructure and maintain existing buildings. Moreover, these shopping centers will be advantageous for the residents in its area as more employments will be provided.

All in all, I am on the opposite side of the given opinion and town planners should not neglect any of these facilities as they play a vital role in forming a good living area for the local inhabitants.