Which is the most important cultural identifier or the feature that defines your cultural identity?

In today's multicultural societies, cultural identifiers have an increasingly stronger influence on people's everyday lives as a means to define themselves. This can be simply demonstrated through many aspects such as: music, shared values and beliefs, history,… In my opinion, the most noticeable cultural identifier of Vietnamese people is our traditional food since it represents a long rough history and leaves a deep impression of Vietnam on the world stage.

To begin with, Vietnamese traditional food is a summation of our rough history with invasions of many countries. Colonized and governed by foreign countries for such a long period, Vietnamese people, throughout history, have absorbed many characteristics of other countries’ cuisine and made them ours. Banh mi, a well-known Vietnamese dish, for instance, is the combination of French and Vietnamese cuisine. During the French colonial era, French troops of the army brought along their signature food, such as: baguette, pate, baloney,… And Vietnamese people have added some of our spices and ingredients, like pickle cucumber, cha lua,…and successfully made one of the world's most delicious sandwiches, namely banh mi. The story about the origins of Banh mi greatly demonstrates how cuisine can effectively demonstrate a culture’s history.

Furthermore, it is impossible to mention Vietnam without praising our traditional food which has firmly put Vietnam on the world’s culinary map. Vietnamese cuisine, in fact, is globally noted for many of its distinctive features such as: an impressive array of cooking methods, a diversity of spices and flavors in every dish,…, making the vast majority of the world fall in love with it. One example is Pho, right after introduced globally by the flow of Vietnamese immigrants in the 1990s, it has immediately become a food phenomenon in many countries for its fatty hot soup with many spices. In major cities, these days, it is not hard to find a pho restaurant who welcomes bustling flows of customers everyday. And pho is one of many dishes representing Vietnam on the world stage.

In conclusion, although the world has become increasingly interconnected, I strongly believe that the traditional food of each culture still stand distinctively and represent its profound values.