Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that whether schools should forbid children from using their phones during the school day. While I understand the reasons why many advocate this idea, it is my firm belief that phones are allowed to be used in classrooms as they have currently become an effective class equipment.

It is an undeniable fact that the phone is a great distraction which can adversely affect children's academic performance in class, and therefore should be banned. Phones are, in fact, highly addictive as they offer vast resources of entertaining content with relentless notifications from numerous mobile apps. In my class, for instance, in the past, despite being mature teenagers, many of my classmates could not resist from the temptation of their phones, frequently using them to watch films and surf social medias in class. Classes were also often interrupted by the annoying sound of phone ringing and phone notifications. As a consequence, the average scores in tests went down sinificantly, which subsequently made my head teacher enact a "no phone" policy in class. And right after this decision, the academic performance of students in my class has been improved. The story of my class has indicated how the appearance of phones in classes can have negative effect on students' grades.

Nevertheless, phones have recently been developed to an effective educational aid in classes. Thanks to technological advances, many mobile apps and online platforms designed for phones, provide many intellectually stimulating activities, which improve the teaching quality. A salient example is Kahoot, an increasingly popular educational app in many countries, offers an innovative method to carry out quizzes in classrooms. The teacher can easily upload multiple choice questions on the platform, and students then can participate by using the phones to choose correct answers. When students show a strong preferenct for Kahoot due to its colorful display of tests with vivid sounds, teachers can greatly benefit from its detailed analysis about the class performance. It is clear that there are many interesting educational apps having the involvement of phones, so phones should not be banned.

In conclusion, while the phone can create great distraction for students, I strongly believe its function of an eductional aid can outweigh its drawback. And schools should teach children how to use phones effectively rather than banning them.