While it is believed that making a profit is a top priority of many organizations since it helps their businesses to stay afloat and keep their activities running smoothly, others argue that they should also have to take social responsibilities aside from solely aiming for financial gain. I totally agree with the latter idea.

On the one hand, it is irrefutably that the world now is increasingly becoming competitive, thus it demands companies generate as much money as they could to survive. It is understandable that companies are always in favour of creating profits over the secondary social roles because they have to pay employees’ wages and payments for premises and utilities. On top of these costs, the competitive world requires them to put most of their finance to invest in innovations and improvements in order to be not falling behind their rivalries. If businesses fail to meet the turbulently changing need of customers or fail to pay their bills, any further social roles become irrelevant. By way of explanation, businesses are only able to contribute positively to society if they have a healthy financial background.

On the other hand, I am of the opinions that organizations should not be run solely with the aim of profitable maximization, since they have a larger role to play in society. With the growth and expansion of their businesses, they can help to lower the existing unemployment rate and increase the minimum salary for labour workers, which can help them to lead stable lives. Regarding social contribution as a whole. Companies can use, for example, a proportion of their revenues to fund local and national charities namely building more school for underprivileged children, supporting environmental initiatives such as climate change and so forth. Finally, executives in top organizations should be happy to contribute to society through the tax system instead of seeking ways to avoid it.

In conclusion, it is obvious to companies to aim for financial gain. However, I firmly believe that they should balance between making a profit and social responsibilities simultaneously.