Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little that can be done to rectify this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

If one controls the media, they also manipulate public opinions and attitudes; and rectifying this is almost impossible. I totally agree with this statement

It is necessary to know why people are so sensitive to news reported on the media. The reason for this rests on human tolerance towards absorbing information and predisposition towards gossip. This is an evolutionary virtue that allows human to exchange ideas and then gradually forge a social structure consolidating human triumph over other more physically superior, yet less sociable animals. For this reason, when being exposed to information reported throughout the media, people instinctively accept and circulate it just like their ancestors did when still living tribes and kingdoms. Therefore, taking over the media give the controllers the power to instill their opinions into other people.

Communism is an exemplary example; the media is more or less controlled by the government, which means there is no free press. The media, therefore, become a means of propaganda, with unbiased news praising the government’s good deed and strict censorship on those who are unbeneficial for them. Consequently, those kinds of news give people a distorted view of what is truly happening, and journalists, who dare to shed light on news modified by the government, run a risk of losing their jobs-or if worse-their own life.

The reason why little efforts could be done to tackle the monopoly of the media is obvious. There are little alternative media from which people can keep themselves abreast of the news. Opponents of this opinion would argue that there are still many investigative journalists on social media that do still have a tradition of exposé. However, they are mingled with tabloids and rumors, rendering them unreliable compared to mainstream media.

In conclusion, It is not an overstatement to say that the media is influenced by “big people” so as to tame public opinions and attitudes. There is little effort that could be done to reconcile this because of the lack of alternative media and the risk of conflicting with the government’s ideology.