Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little that can be done to rectify this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the media has an important role in our life. Therefore, it is believed that people who have an influence on the press also can affect others’ thoughts and behaviours. However, to my mind, it is not these company’s masters but the consumers, that is us, who have effect on our own mind and act whatever the media does.

Firstly, let me give you two reasons why mass communication can not totally affect us. Newspapers, as the first media, appeared in fifteenth century, which means the media has a long history. However, we haven’t seen any controls from the bosses of these types of media until now. So that, it is not true if we assume they are controlling us these days while we have even more equipments to do what we want. More importantly, we decide what we see or watch and what we do not. Therefore, it is proved that we are the masters of our thoughts and decisions but not the media organizations.

However, because of a large numbers of different types of media we use and a longer time we spend for these, it is easily to understand why we are affected partly by some pieces of information on the Internet or in the magazines. For example, the youth in many countries now favour the foreign celebrities such as Korean music bands or Hollywood stars even they only watch them on television or the Web. Because of that, if the consumers do not want to be negatively influenced by the media, they should have intelligent choices which they should or should not watch.

In conclusion, I personally believe that the media is only a part in our lives so the bosses of these communicative companies are unable to control the way we think or behave. However, as intelligent customers, I recommend that we understand clearly what to believe on these big and complicated platforms.