Why is the number of bikes increasing? What can be down?

Nowadays, automobiles are an issue in most of the cities, and yet pushbikes popularity is not growing, quite the opposite. In my opinion, the main reason for this situation is the soaring prices of bicycles and the danger of cycling in busy traffic. Luckily, there is a solution: introducing work-related financial incentives as well as creating cycling paths would encourage their use as a meaning of everyday transport.

Good quality bikes and a protective gear required for safe cycling are an expensive purchase, therefore many people believe it is a relatively unnecessary buy. Moreover, commuting using a bike is considered unsafe, especially after the sunset or in bad weather conditions. Car drivers are often impatient and even aggressive towards cyclists. For example, accordingly, to the Metropolitan Police's statistic, 40% of all road traffic accidents in 2019 involved pedallers.

One effective solution to increase the number of bicycles on the roads is to introduce work-related incentives. They would work as interest-free loans, paid directly to a bicycle shop supplying a bike and be taken straight from a workers wages to make sure they are not fraudulently abused. This type of scheme, called Cycle to Work, has been successfully run by a number of companies in Great Britain, including Sainsbury's. However, the number of cyclists will not increase, until new bike paths are created. They would have to be properly marked and well lit so to be usable in any weather conditions.

In conclusion, the falling number of pushbikes in the cities stems from their soaring prices as well as the hazards of commuting this way in a city not adapted for cyclist. There is a way of tackling the issue, but the approach has to bilateral: on the one side pushbikes have to be made affordable and on the other new cycling, roads must be created.