Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Today, kids spend long hours playing and working with their mobile phones. I suppose this situation is mainly caused by apartment life, and it has deteriorating effects on their physical and mental health.

Living in multi-story buildings unpleasantly influences the inhabitants’ lifestyles; children are no exception. The primary problem caused for the younger ones is not having access to efficient areas for physical activities. This way, they tend to stay home and entertain themselves with their smartphones. This can stem from the fact that, nowadays, appropriate outdoor areas for children to play have been excluded from the apartments. To illustrate, in the past, families were used to living in houses with yards and gardens, and obviously, children had enough space to play outdoor games. Consequently, they were less likely to spend long hours at home. In contrast, due to the modern architecture of buildings, children are now compelled to stay inside, and there is nothing more appealing than smartphones to them to pass the time.

Considering this occasion, kids are now exposed to severe mental and physical issues. Firstly, they are more likely to gain weight since their metabolism can get distracted due to low activity levels. In other words, there is a high risk of obesity for juveniles who spend many hours sitting and just looking at their smartphones. Secondly, they may be exposed to sight issues. This is because of the diminishing lights and signals that point at the eyes and harm the sense of sight. Finally, young girls and boys with fewer opportunities to go out and play in the fresh air and also socialize with their peers are undoubtedly at risk of depression and anxiety. In a word, they feel lonely, and they cannot foster sufficient social skills. So, it is probable for them to experience levels of depression and undergo a distinguished amount of stress both as a child and an adult.

In conclusion, it is true that apartments have played a serious role in the time children spend on their mobile phones. It is also accurate that this development happened to be extremely negative since it leads to physical and mental issues for kids.