Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people argue that wild animals are of no value to human existence, so the spending on protecting wild animals is pointless. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this statement because I think that wild animals play an important role in the ecosystem and the development of our society.

I believe that for a variety of reasons, wild animals are extremely important to our lives. First, the existence of one kind of wild animal is strongly linked with other living creatures such as plants and insects. Therefore, the disappearance of them could lead to the destruction of natural habitat and this also causes negative impacts on our lives. Furthermore, I think that wild animals are not as useless as people believe. There are many scientists and research implicate that the similarities between chimpanzee and human DNA could be a possibility for finding remedies curing cancers and genetic diseases.

I also disagree with the idea that spending on protecting wild animals is a waste of money and resources. In fact, the natural habitats of wild animals are being destroyed by human activities. The development of agriculture and intensive irrigation cause soil to lose its integrity which leads to erosion. Moreover, the industrialization and urbanization are the main factors for acid rains and water pollution. If the government do not interfere, the living environment of the wild animal will soon disappear. The protecting wild animals not only benefits them but also our existence.

In conclusion, I believe that protecting wild animals is crucial for the development and survival of human society, so we should do everything we can to protect them.