Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is pointless to prevent wild animals from extinction nowadays. However, I completely disagree with this viewpoint because I believe the conservation of wildlife is essential for the environmental system.

On the one hand, it is unethical to think that wild species have no place in the 21st century. To start with, our planet Earth exists not only for human benefit but the beauty of nature is composed of a diversity of living things, plants, and resources. Moreover, in spite of the growing global population, it is not needed to exploit every last square inch of land to feed or accommodate the population. Instead, we can still live side by side with the wildlife. Finally, protecting wild animals is certainly not a waste of natural resources. The reason is that habitats for the survival of animals are also crucial for environmental sustainability. For instance, rainforests occupy not only animals but also green plants which absorb carbon dioxide and release oxygen, therefore stabilizing the climate.

On the other hand, the preservation of wildlife can be quite challenging in this 21st century. Firstly, we need to think of high conservation costs particularly when our human race is solving the prevention of natural disasters such as global warming, lack of water, and climate change. Moreover, in terms of the human diet, wild animals like crocodiles and polar bears do not involve as well. Lastly, it is a logical thought that the spread of diseases can start from wild species and they are also consuming the biological needs of humans such as water and oxygen.

In conclusion, both arguments have merits. Personally, despite high costs and a demanding process, I assume we ought not to let wild animals die out as they play a partial part in the ecosystem and beauty of nature.