Without capital punishment (death penalty), our lives are less secure and crimes and violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s generation, there are high incidence of death and some people still think that criminals still need to be forgiven with second chances. However, I am of the belief that violators of life have to pay for their deeds and undergo capital punishment such as death penalty.

In the Philippines, where so much pity has been given to criminals, most of the citizens oppose to the idea of capital punishment. One teenage girl died and her face was skinned while she was fighting for her death while another one was shot in the head by her father which is definitely unnerving as such death rates due to murder is still existing at a high rate. If such act stands as one of the laws in the country, killers and those who don’t value life will think twice knowing that if they violate the law, they will pay it with their own life.

Furthermore, other crimes will significantly decrease because the laws are there to guide the government to act on a stricter way. Bahrain, Singapore and Indonesia are one of the countries who are strictly implement capital punishment. As a result, there is a low instance of criminality and people have peace of mind knowing that their neighborhood is a better place to live in.

Lastly, the high risk population who can benefit the most are the underprivileged group such as the women, children and elderly who cannot successfully defend for themselves. Violence happen because life is not being regarded as an important aspect in the society. Gangs who are behind some riots, kidnapping of members of the family of the well-off individuals and physical abuse are being kept to a minimum because such law is there to protect innocent lives.

In conclusion, while most of the citizens think that life should not be paid by another life, I am of the firm opinion that murders much be put to a desirable death. This does not only reduce the mortality rate from killing but can also minimize other crimes and can give assurance to the greater public.