The world natural resources are consumed at an ever-increased rate. What are the danger of this situation? What should we do?
It is true that there is the growing consumption of natural resources in many parts of the
world. This has potential problems, and we need to take actions to combat the issue.
The over exploitation of natural resources results in a number of negative effects. Chief
among them is a greater level of environmental contamination. In recent years, emissions
from traffic have increased significantly due to the growing demand for fossil fuels in the
world. This impairs the quality of life and decreases life expectancy of people. In Vietnam,
for example, a growing number of people are suffering from respiratory problems as a
result of the deterioration in the air quality. Another consequence is that the natural
resources will be dwindling shortly in near future. A possible scenario of this is that
countries may fall into a fuel war, which threatens mankind as a whole.
The situation calls for prompt actions. One measure would be that campaigns should be
continued to raise public awareness about saving energy. We can, for example, opt for
public transport whenever possible rather than relying on our private vehicles. This will
contribute to a reduction in the level of exhaust emissions released into the environment,
slowing down the progress of global warming. The second remedy is that alternative
sources of energy should be developed to reduce our dependence on fossil fuels. Solar
power, wind power and nuclear energy ought to be invested in to make them viable for
public use in the coming years.