The world of work is changing rapidly and people cannot depend on the same job or same conditions of work for life. Discuss the possible causes for these changes and give your suggestions on how people should prepare for work in the future?.

currently, people’s workplaces are constantly changing and evolving to meet the demands of modern society. it seems unlikely to have a permanent job as before. In the following essay, it will discuss the reasons underpinning this phenomenon and attempt to provide some suggestions to cope with change.

Advances in technology can be considered a major cause. firstly, many positions have been replaced by robots with higher working speed and equipment employing artificial intelligence. Especially for employees working on repetitive jobs, they are not competent to be adapted to automated work environment. For instance, warehouse, in the past, employed a considerable amount of labors to pick and distribute items for specific orders, while, in current practice, sophisticated information system can direct robots to complete the same task more efficiently and accurately.

In addition, technological progress has largely changed people’s lifestyle. With the prevalence of electronic devices, many daily activities have been moved to so-called virtual world. Notably, people tend to read news online rather than through a newspaper. E-commerce platform can attract enormous number of customers, while physical stores cannot appeal to customers as before. Consequently, a variety of physical presences gradually disappear, followed by the decline of corresponding occupations.

There are some suggestions for adapting ourselves to rapidly changing world. Firstly, it is worthy to improve communication skills. Although information system can process and deliver information efficiently, it cannot replace teamwork and deal with interpersonal relationship properly. This is where human beings can differentiate themselves from machines. communication skills can help cultivate competitive advantage in some jobs like negotiator and manager.

To sum, advanced technology is considered to pose a considerable threat to people’s job security, since many jobs and industries have been replaced. The competition in the future will take place not only among human beings but also between human and technology. We need to develop particular abilities that help differentiate us from machines, such as creativity and communication skills.