Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of high-speed internet and electronic devices has attracted increasing number of users to read news online. However, it may be held that newspapers will remain the primary media for getting news. I disagree with this point. I believe that in the future newspaper will lose its leading position due to its disadvantages and limitations.

Firstly, compared with mobile devices, newspapers cannot help us get latest information. this results from its quiet long cycle of news production. Generally, it is time-consuming to collect information, edit news, design layout and circulate newspaper. when readers get newspaper, events reported may take place one day ago. Therefore, people would rather browse internet on their cell phones. various websites and applications can provide latest information, which probably came out just a few minutes ago.

Secondly, newspaper depends on words and pictures to convey information. one disadvantage for this is that some vital details are likely to be omitted, which may decline the comprehensiveness of news report. Also, in comparison with videos appearing in internet, the form of words and pictures cannot depict news events vividly and accurately. Misuse of some words and particular selection of pictures can even misdirect readers.

Furthermore, newspapers tend not to present various perspectives and voices. Different from internet, where everyone can post a message timely and freely, newspaper is supported by limited sources of news. Thus, some unique and distinctive ideas may not be found in newspaper. Especially when a publisher possesses its own standpoint, selective reporting and biased report tends to take place.

To conclude, it is believed that newspaper will lose its leading position of news report. due to insufficient perspectives, delayed news and inaccurate reporting, it is likely to be replaced by some new media based on internet.