The world of work is rapidly changing and employees cannot depend on having the same work or the same work conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes and suggest ways to prepare for people to work in the future.

The world of work is rapidly changing and employees cannot depend on having the same work or the same work conditions for life. This statement is very relevant if we look at different industries and work places today.

One main possible cause of changing work is development in science and technology. Due to New technologies and developments , new skills are required to work on new platforms and machines. As new machines and platforms are more efficient and productive than old machines. Therefore, Employers prefer to implement new machines and technologies in their compnaies so as to get maximum output and profits. From consumer demand to manufacturing process everything is changing. So industries are making themselves capable to meet the needs of changing market.

It becomes very critical for employees to upgrade their skills according to changing industry and technology. Employees needs to be very aware about their skills and industry they are working in. They need to be properly updated about any recent development and any distruptive innovation that can effect their industry directly or indirectly.

One possible way to prepare people for future work is corporate training. Corporates can train their employess substaintially with time according to any new technology. If there are chances of automation in a particular sector. Then Employees can be reskilled.

Lets take example of Software industry, 1990's there was huge demand of java programmers in market, but due to evolution of new technologies and lprogramming languages. Demand of java professionals reduced with time. Some people lost their jobs as companies moved to new language platforms. But some employees learned new languages and skills.

It can be concluded that market and industries are changing rapidly. To prepare people for future jobs, individual as well as corprate efforts needs to be made so as to make sure people are ready for changing work , new skills and new market.