The world of work is rapidly changing and employees cannot depend on having the same work or the same work conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes and suggest ways to prepare for people to work in the future.

The world has undergone significant changes in the last few decades, which hampers workers from working in a similar profession and work conditions for a life-time. This essay elaborates on the possible causes of the ongoing phenomenon and proposes some suggestions on skills employees should be equipped with to be fully prepared for the changing future.

It is clear that technological advances have made a huge change in job market since the 20th century. On the one hand, it greatly curbs the human resources needed for a certain task and boosts productivity and efficiency. While this produces some merits, it also causes job loss on a massive scale. For example, white-collared workers may not be in great demand as they used to be, which is a direct result of application of technology such as automatic chain into factories. People working in certain fields also run the risk of losing their jobs to artificial intelligence. From my perspective, there is a likelihood that interpreters are superceded by automatic translating tool, for the fact that the comprehensive capacity of these machines has been progressive to reach a nearly perfect accuracy.

There are certain skills would-be workers should employ to adapt to these changes. Workers should obtain transferable skills which allow them the opportunity to work in any other profession. These transferable skills are not possibly replaced by machinery such as people skills and problem-solving skills.

In summary, the constant change requires a changing workforce as well.