Write about the following topic.

Most people are no interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it it costs.

How true is this stament? What influences people when they buy food?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Unlike in the past when food was a rare source and its availability never meets all the human’s needs. Nowadays, there are plenty of food products and ways in which they can be produced. People in today’s society can have a number of choices to make depending on their backgrounds. Those choices are also affected by lots of elements.

With the rise of living standards, more and more people are able to earn more money than their requirements. They become more serious about their health and food intake. Moreover, the onward march of continuous industrial pesticides and fertilizers in the agriculture makes the process of producing food is more important.

On the other hand, families have financial difficulties or low income, which can’t help them to sustain their life, don not put food’s problems at the top of the agenda. In the same way, students living independently of their families tend to have the same way of thinking. All of these people have more concerned about whether there is enough food for them to survive than processes of things they take in.

The elements affecting consumers’ choices are not only prices labeled on goods. Appearances and ways in which food is advertised are also the key factors. People, especially children, are easily attracted by colorful and lovely things. For this reason, many companies try to design lots of characters from cartoon films to encourage their target customers. They also attempt to increase their product’s consumption by cooperating with famous people to help them advertise their goods. For example, we can easily come across the poster or short video of singer Hari Won with a can of Mirinda soft drink. That image is so popular that the consumer’s expenditure on this product rises significantly.

In conclusion, the decisions people made on food are impacted by the number of reasons depending on each of the customers’ background. These choices can be changed not only by prices but also by the surrounding environment.