Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

There have been a heated argument on whether it is appropriate to say that computers are the most crucial thing humanity has created over the last century. From my viewpoint, I would agree with the statement. This essay will express my answer, give reasons to my answer to come to a reasonable conclusion.

In the first place, it is undeniable that computers have been the key to a fast and accessible way of communicating. Before computers, it was nearly impossible for one to constantly keep track of your beloved relatives and social relationships. But now, with the era of computers, people can easily communicate with others even from a great distance, therefore keeping us updated on our social life. For instance, in the September 11th attack, computer lifted the burden of relatives of the survivors, worrying if their loved ones are affectded by the incident by providing a fast way of communicating through online messages.

Moreover, computer has play its role in the development of the human race as one of the most efficient and versatile tool. The ability to solve math problems precisely and rapidly, alongside with its ability to store information perfectly without affecting their quality has made computers the inevitable worktool for the modern man. In the 90s and the 00s, computer was considered the superior tool in office and in factories, being the main motivation for them to run smoothly. Imagine if all the computers are gone, the workload would become impossible for human to handle

With all the reasons and examples above, I have explained my choice of computers as the most crucial invention in the last century.