Write about the following topic:

Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, people are provided with a good number of options to satisfy their craving for knowledge. While being wild-spread enough, most museums are not free of charge for the attendants. Despite the many advantages museums receive from fees, I feel that restricting a free entrance is predominantly disadvantageous. This would be shown by looking at the money opportunities of visitors and the ratio of corruption of museum workers.

For one, although imposing charges may be lucrative, it constitutes a sensitive money drag for visitors. With being the most frequent attendants of museums, students fall short of covering the price for entrance. For instance, I used to pay a visit to the Berlin national museum which entrance ticket was approximately 50 euro that exceeded my month scholarship. As most students do not have a well-paid occupation, a museum visit may be tremendously expensive for them. Thus, it makes me feel that imposing charges is exorbitantly disapproving as it hinders students’ access.

In addition to this, the vast majority of museums is endowed with the financial support of state funds, and additional charges may be a bait for museum workers. For example, they can be exposed to the temptation of money laundering or improper application of finances. In this case, charges also constitute a money burden for visitors and are not allocated to museum needs. This idea underpins the point about numerous snags of imposing fees for entrance.

To conclude, the barring of not prosperous students from the knowledge and a hypothetical inclination of museum workers to money laundering outweigh the minor proses of imposing charges. Thus, I strongly believe that in a foreseeable future the number of free museums will be predominant over the paid ones.