Write an essay about the social and economic impacts of social media

It is no doubt that social media has brought considerable changes to our lives in recent years. This essay therefore will discuss both the potential positive and negative impacts of social media on society and the economy.

In terms of the advantages, social networking sites have made it much easier for us to maintain contact with significant friends or family members as well as online friends regardless of geographical locations. In other words, it has eliminated many communication barriers enabling people to interact and freely share information, news, photos and opinions about various topics of interest. Besides, with the aid of social media, a large number of companies enhance in way of advertising campaigns to promote and develop their branch and products, particular is the use of the targeted advertising with a viewing to attracting potential customers. Today, the online platform provides marketplaces, where everyone who has an account can sell their products and buy several items. This directly supports the stability of domestic economic and social productivity.

Despite the above benefits, I personally contend that social media may result in many detrimental impacts on society and the economy that should not be overlooked. Firstly, social networking sites pose threats to privacy for both individuals and society. As more and more information gets placed online, there is an increased danger of hackers, companies in ways that undermine personal privacy. And in some cases, your data is outright stolen. Secondly, some young people use social networks that are not really civilized or utilise forums, associations and groups to publicly attack, smear and insult each other. And the overuse of social networking sites also affects our values and beliefs about relationships. In addition, social media affects productivity as it distracts staff from work.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the positive effects that social media has on our society and economy are outweighed by the disadvantages. Therefore, we need to take advantage of social media wisely and properly.