Write an essay to discuss the advantages of extracurricular activities to secondary school students.

In recent times, concerns have been riveted on the influence of non-academic activities on secondary school students. Since long, this certain aspect of school life has been evaluated to a point where advantages outweigh drawbacks significantly.

To commence with, there are myriad of benefits that can be derived from doing extracurricular activities in which the most outstanding merit is the element of experience. In regular scenarios, only when in high schools do students have the opportunity to engage in extracurricular activities, where experience plays a key role in the process of recruiting. For instance, market-dominant companies or organisations have students opt for internship as a preparation before making the decision for official employment. Less highlighted, but equally considered, comes the effect of such activities on students’ profiles. It is evident that the number of students applying for scholarship is increasing annually, setting a higher standard for the applicants. To conclude, having early practice provides students with a large variety of opportunities as well as better chance of success.

The merits of such engagement also extend to students’ improved health, both physically and mentally. For example, sports undoubtedly escalate one’s physicality while being able to maintain their happiness. Furthermore, extracurricular activities create time and space for students to relieve stress after dull study sessions. In short, such exercises keep students at a comfortable state of mind in addition to improving their physical status, therefore boosting one's productivity.

To recap briefly, I am of the opinion that the aforementioned merits can fortify the validity of extracurricular activities, proving that such activities are rather beneficial to secondary students.