With the increasing use of and development of new technology, many machines are now able to do the work which people use to perform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In today’s developing world, technology plays an important role in society. It can be said that some of the new technologies are able to replace human works. This essay will take a look at both sides of the coin and discuss its advantages and disadvantages.

On one hand, technology’s importance is obviously undeniable. In companies and factories, a programmed machine can run certain works separately with minimum fails, even more effective and hard-working than humans without tiredness. For instance, thousands of workers in the garment industry are facing unemployment because high-tech sewing machines are being developed day by day. These robotic devices are able to sew faster and more beautifully than the most skillful worker. Besides, machines run at a stretch; breaks are not necessary and they do not require a salary, neither. That sounds like a great deal! In families, technology is applied in creating convenient housewares, such as automatic vacuuming robots, dishwashers, washing machines, clothes dryers, and so on. Even basic housework can be done by high-tech devices.

On the other hand, this trend does have certain drawbacks. The listed advantages above may have you realized that the more technology develops, the more people face the risk of being replaced. Machines are created to serve humanity, but are we relying on these non-human objects too much? Whatever the answer is, robots are definitely not going to have the same roles as humans. For example, in the service sector nowadays, many restaurants use AI robots as staff. Customers may come for amusement and curiosity, but in the end, these staffs are nothing but programmed robots without the ability to solve unexpected problems. This leads to many failed circumstances when customers are not pleased and underrated the restaurants.

In short, technology is convenient but not almighty. In the tech-developing era, people must know how to control the impact of robotic machines, or else the outcome might be unpredictable.