Writing IELTS task 2 - "Throw away" Society

These days people in some countries are living a “throw-away” society, which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are the causes and problems?

In recent years, many devices been used up a few times and unceremoniously dumped afterwards have become an increasingly popular trend. There are a number of reasons for this trend, which is having a significant impact on both the environment and on the community as a whole.

The predominant factor resulting in throw-away society is the prevalence of science and technology. In fact, thanks to the technological advances and digital devices, many companies have directly competed each other in generating an enormous amount of diverse products which bring state-of-the-art utilization and glamour model to consumers. For instance, Steve Jobs’ company has created a series of iPhone devices that the more be the most cutting-edge one made, the more its differences with older ones are major. Another cause of this is that modern objects have a cost which is relevant to the payment of consumers, and this has resulted in many can easily own gadgets while their function and quality are drastically improved. In other words, individual can possess many objects at the same time, meaning throwing away more unfavourable ones will ensue.

This tendency could have negative consequences in terms of both society and environment. A negative factor is that using many high-tech devices as well as personal gadgets can contribute to waste on money and further natural resources, thereby crucially depending upon supporting objects. An important concern for expenditure on things in a short time is that whether technological devices or household appliances has also played a vital role in increasing a large number of rubbishes which has become an extreme difficulty with the government and environmentalist in tackling them. Plastic, for example, is one of materials which ought to take hundreds of years to decay.

In conclusion, there are dangers in the exhausted non-renewable resources and the increasing environment issues from fritter-away objects and the causes of this phenomenon should be addressed gradually.