In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses. Some people think that people can choose to build houses in their own styles instead of building them with the same as the old house style in local areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people argue that building a new house should follow the traditional style of the local area, whereas others suppose individuals should be free to construct their houses in the style they like. In my opinion, people should have the right to decide the design of their house.

On the one hand, it can be an eyesore if each house has its own style when it comes to architecture. First, houses in a small town or village would probably have historical significance. Moreover, their architectural styles likely reflect the local cultural heritage. Second, these same houses can attract a lot of tourists by their unique features, particularly if they are unique or unusual in some way. For example, in Finland, there are many picturesque villages floating on water, in which the houses have the same design and construction materials.

On the other hand, I would argue that people should welcome change in their area, and this does not necessarily mean the loss of traditional cultures. Individuals should be free to choose the internal or external design according to their own likes and needs, as long as they can feel comfortable in their own space. This does not contribute to the disappearance of traditional ways of life but helps the owner enjoy the particular character of the house. Moreover, modern construction materials, which are needed to build a new house, are more likely to be readily available than traditional materials, such as wood or natural stone. Finally, the maintenance costs would be more affordable than with traditional houses.

In conclusion, although it can be incompatible with surrounding housing in terms of general architecture, the style of a house should be decided by the owner.