WRITING TASK 2

You should spend 40 minutes on this task.

Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead.

Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, more and more students are favorite in IT subjects rather than scientific ones. In my point of view, this is a negative development, and this phenomenon could be explained by some reasons.

In a realistic view, it is reasonable that this development is negative. Firstly, all subjects and jobs need to have enough people to make a balanced school and market. If students try to learn computer programming and find jobs in the technology field so there will not have enough people working in other fields. Gradually, pupils will think that learning and majoring in a computer-based field is the only way to become successful. Moreover, learning subjects like IT requires students to look at the computer screen too much, which can cause some eye problems.

So what are the reasons for that? In the 4.0 evolution, technologies and computers have been a part of our life. Because of our technologies, it is clear that many people, especially students want to know how to use those technologies. That is why students want to learn computer-based subjects. Furthermore, students believe that studying those subjects will help them to earn higher salaries. Jobs related to the computer field will help people get higher money, so it can make students want to study and work in that field.

In conclusion, this phenomenon is a negative problem, which can affect students in many ways. It could be caused by some reasons, mostly from the growth of the world’s technologies and our thought. In my opinion, these problems can affect students more if people still think it the negative way.