You should spend about 40 minutes on this task Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present To what extent do you agree or disagree Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or e

Nowadays, it is widely argued whether people can benefit from learning about the past, or if, due to the huge technological advances, we should only focus on the future, and not waste any time taking trips down memory lane. In my opinion, I absolutely disagree with the notion that the past has nothing to teach us for the reasons that I mention below.

First of all, both history teachers and international relations analysts agree on that history repeats itself. Nations have, as people do, ambitions and inspirations, which always cause conflicts and wars, especially, among neighbour countries. For example, Greece and Turkey from 1821 until today have declared war to each other four times. Now, both countries have marched their fleets towards the southeast corner of the Mediterranean Sea and try to state their claim with respect to the the exploitation of hydrocarbons. Looking back at their common history, is a useful tool to understand that they have been at eachother's throats to many times, and maybe they should seek a more diplomatic approach, in order to solve their differences.

In regard to people as individuals, I believe that it is quite beneficial to educate ourselves from other people's lives and mistakes. No matter our financial and technological status or the time that we live in, we shall always share the same flaws of character that our parents and grandparents had. Recent surveys indicate that family disputes repeat themselves through time. Speaking from personal experience, my parents took a divorce, when I was very little. However, I did not ignore this incident nor I considered it as something trivial. Through the years I tried to analyze their behavior, in order to make sure that, when I get married, I will not repeat the same mistakes my parents did.

To sum up, I totally disagree with the above-mentioned statement, and I belive that learning from the past can help us both at international and personal level.