You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Nowadays children spend a lot of time using the media such as TV, the radio and the Internet. This has negative effects on children's health and their performance at school. Others believe that the media prepare children for the real world.

To what extent should children be encouraged to use the media?

Write an essay to an educated reader to express your opinion. Include reasons and any relevant examples to support your answer. You should write at least 250 words. Your response will be evaluated in terms of Task fulfillment, Organization, Vocabulary and Grammar.

In this information age, teenagers tend to spend a great deal of time using mass media. Many people believe that it brings a lot of disadvantages as they will get distracted and have lower academic performance. Meanwhile, others argue that this trend can help children in many aspects. Personally, I think that both views have their own merits. Discussed below will shed light on my point of view.

To commence with, it is undeniable that mass media have a great deal of benefits. The main point is that it enables children to broaden their knowledge as it helps them to connect with a vast majority of the freshest information. Therefore, children can easily answer the questions, that they are curious about, by themselves. The second point is mass media is a good way of entertainment. Indeed, TV has many kinds of films, game shows for them to enjoy. And from that, they will avoid suffering from some cognitive impairment or depression.

On the other hand, there are some arguments supporting the idea that mass media cause some bad influences on adolescents. It is convincing to realize that the media make children suffer from some serious health problems such as shortsighted eyes or heart disease. The reason for this is that when children spend most of their time using a computer or watching TV, they will establish a sedentary lifestyle and they will be lazy in doing exercises on a daily basis. Furthermore, the light from television brings a lot of demerits to the eye. Finally, children might get distracted from studying, since they are addicted to the game show on TV or the comedy films on Netflix. As a consequence, it results in bad academic performance.

To sum up, The above-mentioned facts have outlined the pros and cons of this issue. As far as I am concerned, its advantages must be outweighed its drawbacks. Parents should make use of the good aspect and control the time limit their children spend on mass media to avoid its bad effects.