You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Outside the standard framework of any educational curriculum, there are endless opportunities for students to learn new skills and boost academic performance. Extracurricular activities such as sports teams, special-interest clubs and art groups is a vital element for students' development.

Write an essay to an educated reader to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of extracurricular activities. Include reasons and any relevant examples to support your answer. You should write at least 250 words. Your response will be evaluated in terms of Task fulfillment, Organization, Vocabulary and Grammar.

Outside the usual framework of any educational syllabus, it has plenty of ways for scholars to acquire new skills and enhance their academic results. Indeed, these days, outdoor activities are becoming one of the most vital parts of students’ development. Some people argue that it brings a lot of benefits to learners. Meanwhile, others think that there are several demerits related to this issue. Discussed below will shed light on both sides of this subject.

To commence with, there are a lot of advantages that outdoor activities have. In the first place, it allows students to express their unique personalities. As they can participate in the special-intertest club, where they will find many like-minded people with the same hobbies. Secondly, taking part in extracurricular activities helps scholars strengthen their muscles. The reason for this is that they provide many kinds of exercises for children to choose from, ranging from solo sports like marathons to team sports such as football, volleyball… Finally, joining outdoor activities will make the students’ friendships stronger. It can easily be seen that when students play some kinds of teambuilding games, they must get on well with their teammates to have an optimal strategy for winning the game. As a consequence, they will build a good relationship with each other.

On the other hand, some people believe that outdoor activities cause several disadvantages. Firstly, it makes students get distracted from their studies, which results in their lower academic performance at school. Secondly, doing this kind of activity can be costly. Because students and their families have to pay for tuition fees and equipment. For example, when students want to take part in a music club, they must ask their parents to buy musical instruments for them. Some kinds of that have cheap prices, but lots of them cost huge money.

In conclusion, the above-mentioned facts have outlined the pros and cons of activities outside the classroom. Its disadvantages should be strictly taken into account. Besides, parents should control their children’s time spent on extracurricular activities to make use of its benefits.