You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

More and more prisons are being built to house the world's criminals and many people believe long-term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem.

However, others feel that medical and psychological assistance is what is required.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The establishment of many prisons is likely a solution to criminal activities. Some people believe that the answer to the crime problem is long-term imprisonment, while others want to apply medical and psychological support. This article will discuss my views and opinion about why medical treatment is more necessary.

On the one hand, imprisonment is an invisible way to reduce the rate of crimes. Using the heaviest punishment to take freedom, the government can give an implicit warning message to anyone who does the same activities. Moreover, jailing prisoners can be compulsory for what they did.

On the other hand, psychological treatment may give prisoners a chance to fix their life. Some people are affected by family, living environment, or education, which give them false perceptions of good or bad things. This medical or psychological assistance can direct them to the right view of the world. Besides, if they have good re-education, they may reduce their jail time and soon be free. The fact is that some of them become good citizens with stable jobs; others set up a business to create jobs for many people, especially those who have a similar situation like them - released from prison.

Personally, the court relied on condition, mentality, causes, consequences, and extra factors to give appropriate punishment for a crime. Medical and psychological assistance is essential to correct the captive's perception and help them control their behavior better. Unless they do not improve compared to standards, they are still jailed. This method may benefit the prison budget.

In conclusion, imprisonment is the strictest punishment that can limit any future crime and let prisoners do penance. However, I firmly agree that applying medical and psychological assistance can change a bad person whose transformation may bring many good values to society.