You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The ability to learn new information and new skills whenever and wherever we want offers far greater opportunities for education than ever before. Many tertiary education institutions are providing their courses and classes online through internet currently. I consider this development as a positive trend because online learning has the potential to offer convenience for the learners and also it can be seen as a great tool to reduce the cost of tradition teaching method.

The greatest benefit of online education is convenience. This means to say that students can learn whenever they want at their convenient time and there is on rush to complete the task. In addition, these online classes are available for twenty four hours a day and seven days of a week. One does not need to go on campus and this way can learn from any part of world. For example, due to Covid19 many renowned universities of the world offer their courses online so that international students who are not eligible to travel can study online. Moreover, recorded classes, access to notes, assignments, quizzes and projects works are uploaded to the website in timely manner so that students can use them as their reference sources.

Another point to consider is the cost effectiveness of online learning. Online education can be a source of cost reduction for students, teachers, institutions and thus for a country. To illustrate, a person can work, a mom can baby-sit or even a pet owner can sit pets along with taking online classes and this way can save huge amount of money. Furthermore, the significant amount of money spent on gas to commute to campus for students, teachers and other officials is also saved this way.

In conclusion, the scope and reach of education broadens to far greater horizons that perhaps ever emarginated. So, many universities take the approach to offer online courses to their student. In my opinion, it is great opportunity and possibility to advance the career and thus it is a positive development for the society.