You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Major problem with giving money as financial aid is that it does not reach the deserved. Embezzlement of money is the most attractive and easy way of corruption by the officials involved with the distribution of money. Often the personnel involved in distribution of money commit fraud and give the money to their closed ones instead of deserved ones. Often the poor have to give away some part of aid money as bribe to receive their money from officials and that bribe is never reported. So the money does not reach deserving people. Even if the money reaches the poor people they will not utilize it for their future needs but will consume it to fulfill their current needs and eventually will be in same situation as soon as they are out of aid money. There was a situation in Country X where financial aid was given for development of schools but later on it was discovered that none of that money was used for its intended use but was embezzled.

Even financial aid in the form of goods does not reach the needy ones but those goods are often seen being sold in the markets. So instead of giving financial aid to the poorer countries the grantors should try to invest that money in poorer countries. Investment will result in the job opportunities and permanent income for the poor people. Income from projects will even produce tax revenues for government and job opportunities for many deserving people. Income from projects can be used for schools or training institutes for education and skills development of people who can't afford the same otherwise. This analysis shows that financial aid in the form of money does not solve the poverty even if it reaches the deserving hands.