You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

As a matter of fact, water contributes to over 60% of the Earth's surface. Water contamination in rivers, lakes and seas has been an alarming issue on a global-scale since the Industrial Revolution. Sadly, the root of the decay of Mother Nature, as well as water pollution, lies in a majority of human's overexploitation, irresponsibility, and ignorance, regardless of the effort the rest of them who seek to protect the environment.

In many developing countries, where the citizens are still struggling to afford necessities, being environmentally friendly seems to be a luxury. In many floating houses alongside Mekong Delta in Vietnam, most residents choose to dump waste, animal corpses directly into the rivers - which they also use for their personal hygiene activities, as well as cleaning, since they cannot afford a proper waste water treatment. As a result, this does not only contaminate the water, as well as destroy nearby aquatic animals' habitats, but also facilitates fungus, infectious diseases to occur, and even dangerous viruses in the long term. There has been a ton of dead fish floating on the water because of this reason. According to a survey in 2019, people who live in areas that are prone to water pollution have 88% higher risk of diarrhea, cholera, dysentery, typhoid, and polio, compared with others.

Single-use plastic products also contributes in polluting marine's creatures habitats. Plastic takes up thousands of years to be completely discomposed, which increase the likelihood of it being eaten by marine animals. In fact, there has been too many animals' skeletons drifted to the shore whose deaths were caused by plastic being stuck in their mouths, or the inability to ingest plastic packages. Some are even considered endangered animals. Oil-spilling also poses a great threat to the lives of these animals, as well as polluting the water. It can kill off a vast area of creatures, just by minutes. Water pollution day by day is totally capable of causing the extinction of an entire species, which consequently can cause chaos in biodiversity, as well as other animals' lives.

In conclusion, as we are all citizens of one big house - the Earth, it is our responsibility to tackle this problem, as well as make up our faults. A propaganda on increasing environmental awareness is essential. Besides, developed countries should shake hands to raise funds to help poor nations have a better infrastructure in water treatment system.